I  U  P  A  C

News & Notices

Organizations & People

Standing Committees







Links of Interest

Search the Site

Home Page



43rd IUPAC Council Meeting

Beijing, China, 20-21 August 2005

43rd IUPAC General Assembly
> Info page

Election of Officers and Bureau Members

According to Statute 5.401, Council must elect:

  • Officers of the Union
  • Elected Members of the Bureau

Nominations for the various positions that fall vacant at the end of 2005 must be received by the Secretary General at the IUPAC Secretariat before 20 June 2005, i.e., two months before the start of the Council meeting (Bylaw 2.221). The situation for each position is set out below:


Prof. Bryan R. Henry (Canada), Vice President and President-Elect, becomes President on 1 January 2006 (Statute 4.2).

> View '03 bio - while candidate for vice president


Vice President–Vacancy
The vice president to be elected at the 43rd Council Meeting will be president-elect, and will become president on 1 January 2008.

Nominations for vice president received are as follows:

  • Srinivasan Chandrasekaran (India) > bio
  • Kazuko Matsumoto (Japan) > bio
  • Nicole Moreau (France) > bio

The retiring President,
Prof. Leiv K. Sydnes (Norway), will remain an Officer (Statute 6.1) and a Member of the Bureau for a period of two years (Statute 7.2).

Secretary General
David StC. Black (Australia), the present Secretary General, was elected to a four-year term (2004-2007) in 2003.

Dr. Christoph F. Buxtorf (Switzerland), the present Treasurer, was elected to a second four-year term (2004-2007) in 2003.

Bureau (Six Vacancies Minimum)
According to Statute 7.2, the Bureau consists of the Officers, the Presidents of the Divisions/Sections, together with not less than ten other Members elected by Council, who shall be known as "Elected Members".

At the conclusion of the 42nd Council in Ottawa, there were ten Elected Members of the Bureau. At the 43rd Council, the Bureau will make recommendations to Council as to the number of Elected Members (ten or more), who should be on the Bureau for the succeeding two years.

Elected Members are elected for a period of four years, and they are eligible for election for a second period of four years.

No Adhering Organization shall have more than one Elected Member of the Bureau.

Statute 7.2 also states that "the principle of fair geographical representation of Members shall be taken into account".

Elected Members of Bureau, retiring in 2005, who are not eligible for reelection, but may be nominated for another office:
Dr. Edwin P. Przybylowicz (USA) and Prof. Gus Somsen (Netherlands).

Elected Members of Bureau, retiring in 2005, who are eligible for reelection for a further four-year period:
Prof. Chunli Bai (China); Prof. S. Chandrasekaran (India); Prof. Robert G. Gilbert (Australia); and Dr. Alan Smith (UK)

Elected Members of Bureau, who were elected at the 42nd Council until 2007:
Dr. Anders Kallner (Sweden); Prof. Dr. Werner Klein (Germany); Prof. Nicole J. Moreau (France); Prof. Oleg M. Nefedov (Russia).

At least six Elected Members of the Bureau must be elected at the 43rd Council in Beijing, i.e., the minimum number of ten Elected Members (Statute 7.2) less the four Elected Members who continue in office until 2007.

Nominations for Bureau received as of 20 June 2005 (the statutory deadline), are as follows:

  • Chunli Bai (China) - reappointment > bio
  • Dusan Berek (Slovakia) > bio
  • Srinivasan Chandrasekaran (India) - reappointment > bio
  • Paul De Bièvre (Belgium) > bio
  • Abu Mahmood (Bangladesh) > bio
  • Kazuko Matsumoto (Japan) > bio
  • Stanislaw Penczek (Poland) > bio
  • Elsa Reichmanis (USA) > bio
  • Ivan Schopov (Bulgaria) > bio
  • Alan Smith (UK) - reappointment > bio
  • Maria van Dam-Mieras (Netherlands) > bio


The situation -as of 1 May 2005- is published in Chem. Int. 27(4), 17-25, 2005.

Page last modified 30 June 2005.
Copyright ©1997-2005 International Union of Pure and Applied Chemistry.
Questions or comments about IUPAC, please contact, the Secretariat.
Questions regarding the website, please contact web manager.