I  U  P  A  C

News & Notices

Organizations & People

Standing Committees







Links of Interest

Search the Site

Home Page



43rd IUPAC Council Meeting

Nominee for Vice President
and Member of the Bureau

Srinivasan Chandrasekaran (India)

Srinivasan Chandrasekaran

Professor Chandrasekaran’s research has been concerned with the development of new synthetic methodology for organic synthesis, synthesis of natural products, organometallic chemistry, catalysis, study of reaction mechanisms, and organic materials.

Education and Career
Chandrasekaran earned his B.S. (1965), M.S. (1967), and Ph.D. (1972) degrees at Madras University in Madras, India. His doctoral supervisor was Prof. S. Swaminathan in the Department of Organic Chemistry. He held postdoctoral fellowships/associateships in the laboratories of Prof. E.J. Corey at Harvard University, Cambridge, MA, USA (1973–1975 and 1976–1977) and Dr. J.A. Edwards at Syntex Research, Palo Alto, CA, USA (1975–1976).

He is currently the chairman, Division of Chemical Sciences and professor, Organic Chemistry at the Indian Institute of Science, Bangalore, India. He was earlier the chairman of the Department of Organic Chemistry (1996–2003) and Amrut Mody Chair Professor of Chemistry. From 1978 to 1989, he worked in the Department of Chemistry at the Indian Institute of Technology, Kanpur, India, where he served as lecturer (1978–1980), assistant professor (1981-1985), and professor (1985–1989). He has been a visiting professor at the Australian National University, Canberra (1985); University of Karlsruhe, Germany (1987); RWTH, Aachen, Germany (1992, 1996); University Paris Sud, France (1998, 2001), and Chinese Academy of Sciences, Beijing (2001).

Chandrasekaran has published over 170 research papers in national and international journals. Over the years he has supervised 26 Ph.D students, 60 M.S. students and 40 postdoctoral fellows. He is a consultant to a number of chemical and pharmaceutical industries in India and abroad.

IUPAC Involvement
Chandrasekaran has been an elected member of the IUPAC Bureau since 2002 and has been a member of the Project Committee. He also served on the IUPAC Commission on Nomenclature of Organic Chemistry (1993–1995) and is currently on India’s IUPAC National Committee.

Related Professional Activities
Chandrasekaran has been a member of many committees and organizations: associate editor, Proceedings of the Indian Academy of Sciences (Chemical Sciences, 1991–2000); member, Sectional Committee, Chemistry, Indian Academy of Sciences (1991–1998); editor, 10th International Conference on Organic Synthesis, Bangalore (1994); member, Editorial Board, Indian Journal of Chemistry (1995–2001); member, Program Advisory Committee in Organic Chemistry, Department of Science and Technology, New Delhi (1995–2001); member, Research Committee on Chemistry and Technology, Council of Scientific and Industrial Research, Govt. of India (CSIR, 1995–2001); member, Council of Indian National Science Academy (1998–2000); convener, National Symposium in Chemistry, Bangalore (1999); member, Task Force on Green Chemistry, Govt. of India; secretary, Indian Academy of Sciences, Bangalore; vice president, Chemical Research Society of India. He also serves as a member on the Research Councils of a number of CSIR laboratories and leading academic institutions in India. He has also served as a member on the Board of Studies of a number of universities in India. Chandrasekaran has delivered more than 180 invited lectures and seminars at various national and international meetings, universities, and research institutions in India and overseas.

Chandrasekaran received the Basudev Banerji Medal and Prize from the Indian Chemical Society in 1988 and the Shanti Swarup Bhatnagar Prize from CSIR in 1989. He was Prof. A.B. Kulkarni Endowment Lecturer at the University of Bombay in 1992; Prof. N. Venkatsubramanian Endowment Lecturer at the University of Madras in 1993; Prof. T.R. Seshadri Memorial Lecturer at Delhi University in 1998; Prof. Siddappa 60th Birthday Commemoration Lecturer at Dharward University in 1999; Professor O.P. Vig Endowment Lecturer, Panjab University, Chandigarh in 2000, Jawaharlal Nehru Birth Centenary Lecturer of the Indian National Science Academy in 2001; 125 Years-Indian Association for the Cultivation of Science, Kolkata—Commemoration Lecturer in 2002 ; and Prof. Sukh Dev Endowment Lecturer, Pune University, in 2004. He received the Silver Medal of the Chemical Research Society of India (2002), Medal of the Material Research Society of India (2004), and the Alumni Award for Excellence in Research in Science (2004). Chandrasekaran was appointed research fellow of the Indian National Science Academy (1985–1987); fellow of the Indian Academy of Sciences (1989); and fellow of the Indian National Science Academy (1992); honorary professor of the Jawaharlal Nehru Centre for Advanced Scientific Research, Bangalore (2000–present); and fellow of the Third World Academy of Sciences, Trieste, Italy (2000).


> Back to Election of Officers and Bureau Members
at 43rd IUPAC Council Meeting

Page last modified 17 June 2005.
Copyright ©1997-2005 International Union of Pure and Applied Chemistry.
Questions or comments about IUPAC, please contact, the Secretariat.
Questions regarding the website, please contact web manager.