I  U  P  A  C

News & Notices

Organizations & People

Standing Committees







Links of Interest

Search the Site

Home Page



44th IUPAC Council Meeting

Torino, Italy, 11-12 August 2007

44th IUPAC General Assembly
> Info page

Election of Officers and Bureau Members

According to Statute 5.401, Council must elect:

  • Officers of the Union
  • Elected Members of the Bureau

Nominations for the various positions that fall vacant at the end of 2007 must be received by the Secretary General at the IUPAC Secretariat before 11 June 2007, i.e., two months before the start of the Council meeting (Bylaw 2.221). The situation for each position is set out below:

The president to be elected at the 44th Council Meeting will be president on 1 January 2008.

Nominations for president received are as follows:

  • Jung-Il Jin (Korea)
  • Anders Kallner (Sweden)
  • Nicole J. Moreau (France)

Vice President–Vacancy
The vice president to be elected will be president-elect on 1 January 2008 and will become president on 1 January 2010.

Nominations for vice president received are as follows:

  • Jung-Il Jin (Korea)
  • Nicole J. Moreau (France)

The retiring President,
Bryan R. Henry (Canada), will remain an Officer (Statute 6.1) and a Member of the Bureau for a period of two years (Statute 7.2).

Secretary General
David StC. Black (Australia), the present Secretary General, was elected to a four-year term (2004-2007) in 2003. He is eligible for re-election for a second four-year term. As of 11 June 2007, there were no other nominations for Secretary General.

Christoph F. Buxtorf (Switzerland), the present Treasurer, completes eight years (2000-2007) of service and is not eligible for re-election.

Nominations for Treasurer received are as follows:

  • John Corish (Ireland)
  • David Schutt (USA)


Bureau (Four Vacancies Minimum)
According to Statute 7.2, the Bureau consists of the Officers, the Presidents of the Divisions/Sections, together with not less than ten other Members elected by Council, who shall be known as "Elected Members".

At the conclusion of the 43rd Council in Beijing, there were ten Elected Members of the Bureau. At the 44th Council, the Bureau will make recommendations to Council as to the number of Elected Members (ten or more), who should be on the Bureau for the succeeding two years.

Elected Members are elected for a period of four years, and they are eligible for election for a second period of four years.

No Adhering Organization shall have more than one Elected Member of the Bureau.

Statute 7.2 also states that "the principle of fair geographical representation of Members shall be taken into account".

Elected Members of Bureau, retiring in 2007, who are not eligible for reelection, but may be nominated for another office:

  • Nicole J. Moreau (France)
  • Oleg M. Nefedov (Russia)

Elected Members of Bureau, retiring in 2007, who are eligible for reelection for a further four-year period:

  • Anders Kallner (Sweden)
  • Werner Klein (Germany)

Elected Members of Bureau, who were elected at the 43rd Council until 2009:

  • Chunli Bai (China/Beijing)
  • S. Chandrasekaran (India)
  • Stanislaw Penczek (Poland)
  • Elsa Reichmanis (USA)
  • Alan Smith (UK)
  • Maria C.E. van Dam-Mieras (Netherlands)

At least four Elected Members of the Bureau must be elected at the 44th Council in Torino, i.e., the minimum number of ten Elected Members (Statute 7.2) less the six Elected Members who continue in office until 2009.

Nominations for Bureau received as of 11 June 2007 (the statutory deadline), are as follows:

  • Dusan Berek (Slovakia)
  • Giuseppe Della Gatta (Italy)
  • Vladyslav Goncharuk (Ukraine)
  • Minoru Isobe (Japan)
  • Anders Kallner (Sweden) - reappointment
  • Venceslav Kaucic (Slovenia)
  • Werner Klein (Germany) - reappointment
  • Ram S. Lamba (Puerto Rico)
  • Natalia Tarasova (Russia)

> Download bios [pdf file - 99KB]; (version070718)

Page last modified 18 July 2007.
Copyright ©1997-2007 International Union of Pure and Applied Chemistry.
Questions or comments about IUPAC, please contact, the Secretariat.
Questions regarding the website, please contact web manager.