- 1. Council unanimously approved the name darmstadtium, with the symbol Ds, for the element of atomic number 110.
- 2. Council unanimously approved the application for National Adhering Organization status of the Bangladesh Chemical Society.
- 3. Council approved the application of the Italian National Adhering Organization to host the 44<sup>th</sup> General Assembly and 41<sup>st</sup> Congress in 2007 at Torino. The Theme of the Congress will be *Chemistry Protecting Health, Natural Environment, and Cultural Heritage*.
- 4. The results of the elections for IUPAC officers were as follows:
  - Vice President and President Elect: Prof. Bryan R. Henry (Canada)
  - Secretary General: Prof. David StC. Black (Australia)
  - Treasurer: Dr. Christoph F. Buxtorf (Switzerland)
- 5. The results of the elections for the Elected Members of the IUPAC Bureau were as follows:
  - Prof. Werner Klein (Germany)
  - Prof. Anders Kallner (Sweden)
  - Prof. Nicole J. Moreau (France)
  - Prof. Oleg M. Nefedov (Russia)
- 6. Subsequent to the Council meeting, the Bureau reelected Prof. Nefedov to the Executive Committee for 2004-7 and elected Prof. Chunli Bai (China) to the Executive Committee for 2004-5.
- 7. Council approved the creation of a new ad hoc Committee, as recommended by the Governance Structure Committee, to advise the Executive Committee on IUPAC policy by a vote of 118, For, 9, Against, and 6, Abstain. The Council also voted to name the new committee the Union Advisory Committee by a vote of 97, For, 22 Against, and 12 Abstain. Each NAO will be asked to name one member of the new Committee. The Executive Committee will approve the Terms of Reference of the Union Advisory Committee.
- 8. The Council approved the reappointment of the Union's Auditors for the years 2003 and 2004.
- 9. The proposed budget and National Subscriptions were approved by a vote of 129, For, 0, Against, and 4, Abstain.
- 10. The proposal to invoice National Subscriptions in each NAO's national currency was approved by a vote of 104, For, 11, Against, and 12, Abstain.
- 11. Council approved the continuation of the IUPAC Prize program, indefinitely, by an overwhelming majority.

- 12. Council approved the proposal of the delegation from United Kingdom to urge the Executive Committee and Bureau to initiate a study of the decline in the number of young people being attracted into the chemical sciences. To address the problem, IUPAC should encourage and facilitate the coordination of the variety of initiatives proposed, with a view to enhancing the importance of chemical education at all levels, and to utilize younger chemists to promote the subject and its achievements. It is recommended that IUPAC collaborate with industry, trade associations, learned societies and academe to discuss how best to achieve these aims. The discussion of the proposal made it clear that Council was not approving an unlimited expenditure, but rather that the amount to be spent on this effort would be determined by the Executive Committee.
- 13. Council approved the continuation of the Joint Commission on Biochemical Nomenclature and the new Standing Orders for the Commission as agreed with the International Union of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology.
- 14. Council approved the new Division rules for Divisions IV and V. Council also approved the proposal to allow the Executive Committee to approve minor changes in Division Rules.
- 15. Council approved the revised Constitution of the International Association of Catalysis Societies.
- 16. Council approved the applications of the International Plasma Chemistry Society, the International Association of Chemical Thermodynamics, and the Southern and Eastern Africa Network of Analytical Chemist for Associated Organization status.
- 17. Council approved the application of the Chemical Society of Mauritius for Associate National Adhering Organization status.
- 18. Bureau approved the increase of the number of National Representatives on Division Committees from six to ten for the biennium 2004-5.
- 19. Bureau approved an increase in the institutional subscription rate for *Pure and Applied Chemistry* to USD 1400 for 2004. All other subscription rates for *Pure and Applied Chemistry* and for *Chemistry International* remain the same.
- 20. Bureau approved the appointment of the following Division Presidents:
  - Physical and Biophysical Chemistry: Prof. Ron D. Weir (Canada)
  - Inorganic Chemistry: Dr. Gerd M. Rosenblatt (United States)
  - Organic and Biomolecular Chemistry: Prof. Minoru Isobe (Japan) With the election of Prof. Black as Secretary General, the new President for the Organic and Biomolecular Chemistry Division, Prof. Minoru Isobe, was approved by the Executive Committee after the General Assembly.
  - Macromolecular: Prof. Robert F. T. Stepto (United Kingdom)
  - Analytical Chemistry: Prof. H. Kipton J. Powell (New Zealand)

- Chemistry and the Environment: Dr. Kenneth D. Racke (United States)
- Chemistry and Human Health: Prof. Paul W. Erhardt (United States)
- Chemical Nomenclature and Structure Representation: Dr. Alan D. McNaught (United Kingdom)
- 21. Dr. Hayes and Dr. Becker received plaques in honor of their service to IUPAC.
- 22. The World Chemistry Leadership Meeting was held on Friday afternoon, 15 August. A report on the meeting will be made separately.
- 23. Council and Bureau acknowledged with thanks the donation of the Samsung Chemical Company for the work of the Macromolecular Division.

For the convenience of the National Adhering Organizations, a complete list of the members of the IUPAC Bureau for 2004-5 is given below.

Officers:

- Prof. Leiv K. Sydnes, President (Norway)
- Prof. Pieter S. Steyn, Past President (South Africa)
- Prof. Bryan R. Henry, Vice President and President Elect (Canada)
- Prof. David StC. Black, Secretary General (Australia)
- Dr. Christoph F. Buxtorf, Treasurer (Switzerland)

Elected Members:

- Prof. C. Bai (China)
- Prof. S. Chandrasekaran (India)
- Prof. R. G. Gilbert (Australia)
- Prof. Werner Klein (Germany)
- Prof. Anders Kallner (Sweden)
- Prof. Nicole J. Moreau (France)
- Prof. Oleg M. Nefedov (Russia)
- Dr. E. P. Przybylowicz (United States)
- Dr. A. Smith (United Kingdom)
- Prof. G. Somsen (Netherlands).

**Division Presidents:** 

- Prof. Ron D. Weir (Canada)
- Dr. Gerd M. Rosenblatt (United States)
- Prof. Minoru Isobe (Japan)

- Prof. Robert F. T. Stepto (United Kingdom)
- Prof. H. Kipton J. Powell (New Zealand)
- Dr. Kenneth D. Racke (United States)
- Prof. Paul W. Erhardt (United States)
- Dr. Alan D. McNaught (United Kingdom)

Operational Standing Committee Chairmen, non voting:

- Prof. Peter W. Atkins, CCE (United Kingdom)
- Dr. David A. Evans, COCI (United Kingdom)
- Dr. John M. Malin, CHEMRAWN (United States)